9.7 C
New York
Sunday, January 29, 2023

Buy now

Ruto’s Kenya Kwanza petitions parliament to kick out four IEBC commissioners

Ruto’s Kenya Kwanza petitions parliament to kick out four IEBC commissioners who dissented presidential results.

The Farmers Party, an affiliate of Kenya Kwanza has petitioned Parliament to kick the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) vice-chairperson, Juliana Cherera and three other commissioners out of office. 

The three commissioners; Justus Nyanga’ya, Irene Masit, and Francis Wanderi along with Cherera disapproved of Wafula Chebukati’s pronouncement of William Ruto as the winner of the August election.

Irungu Nyakera, the leader of the Farmers Party and a former Devolution PS, formally delivered the petition to remove the four commissioners to Parliament on Friday, September 9.

“Yes, we are seeking for the removal of Cherera and others who we accused of violation of office,” Oscar Kimani, the party’s Head of Communications said. 

He also sent a press release to the newsroom stating that the petition was in line with Article 251 of the Constitution.

“A petition for the removal of four IEBC commissioners following the attempt by the said commissioners to sabotage an election process as witnessed on August 15, 2022, at Bomas Of Kenya.

The petition will be brought to the President for the appointment of a tribunal for the removal of the commissioners pursuant to article 251(3) of the Constitution once it has been discussed by the National Assembly.

Kenya Kwanza further alleged that the four had violated their oath and the Constitution in flagrant ways, depriving them of their right to serve in their official capacities as IEBC commissioners.

“Farmers Party believes that this petition to the National Assembly is critical to entrenching the critical value of the IEBC in the growth of democracy and guiding the code of conduct by IEBC officials in subsequent elections,” the party stated. 

The move by Ruto’s Kenya Kwanza comes after the coalition won the Senate and National Assembly speakers’ seats, with Amason Kingi and Moses Wetangula winning the elections of the respective houses. 

Also read,

Details emerge how Ruto engineered Amason Kingi’s win in Senate leading to Kalonzo’s withdrawal

Petition filed for removal of Chebukati, two commissioners, and CEO Marjan Hussein

Wafula Chebukati receives a letter of appreciation after the Supreme Court ruling

Follow us



Stay Connected


Latest Articles