7.2 C
New York
Saturday, December 2, 2023

Buy now

Seven female governors elected in the August general elections

Seven female governors have been elected in the August general elections, the highest since the implementation of the new constitution.

The number of female governors elected at the general election on August 9, 2022, was seven, the most since the devolved system of government was put into place in 2013.

In the 2017 general election, only three female governors were chosen, making them the first women to lead counties since the 2010 Constitution’s adoption. Governors were 44 men.

Anne Waiguru, the governor of Kirinyaga, Charity Ngilu (Kitui), and the late Joyce Laboso were among the trio (Bomet).

The number doubled in the 2022 elections, however, as three additional women defeated their male rivals to win the top county positions.

List of seven female governors elected

Anne Waiguru – Kirinyaga

Governor Waiguru secured a second term in office after garnering 113, 088 votes against her main challenger Purity Ngirici (independent) who got 105,677 votes.

Susan Kihika – Nakuru

The UDA politician trounced sitting governor Lee Kinyanjui of the ruling Jubilee party.

The Nakuru Senator garnered 440,707 votes to clinch the county’s top job against Kinyanjui’s 225,623 votes.

Gladys Wanga – Homa Bay

The ODM party candidate floored former Nairobi Governor Evans Kidero to clinch the Homa Bay governor’s seat.

The outgoing Homa Bay Woman Representative garnered 244,599 votes, defeating former Nairobi governor Dr. Evans Kidero who managed 154,182 votes.

Wavinya Ndeti – Machakos

Wavinya Ndeti finally secured the Machakos governor’s seat on a Wiper party ticket after garnering 226,609 votes in the hotly contested race that attracted five candidates.

The governor-elect main opponent Nzioka Waita of the Chama Cha Uzalendo (CCU) party managed 129,181 votes.

Kawira Mwangaza – Meru

Kawira Mwangaza who ran on an independent ticket, floored incumbent Kiraitu Murungi and Senator Mithika Linturi, to secure the seat.

She is the outgoing Woman Representative for Meru County.

Fatuma Achani – Kwale

Fatuma Achani is the new governor-elect for Kwale County.

Achani, who ran on a United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party ticket, emerged the winner with 59,674 votes against the ODM party’s Hamadi Bodo who garnered 53,972 votes.

Cicily Mbarire – Embu

The former Runyenjes MP, who ran on a UDA party ticket, garnered 108,610 votes in a tight race against Lenny Kivuti who managed 105,246 votes.

Mbarire served as MP for Runyenjes from 2007-2017.

She was nominated to parliament under the special interest group after losing the 2017 polls.

Also read,

Confirmed list of Governors who have already won so far

IEBC denies claims of 200 hacking attempts on its IT system

Follow us



Stay Connected


Latest Articles