14.7 C
New York
Monday, December 11, 2023

Buy now

Azimio and Kenya Kwanza list of nominees for parliamentary leadership

Azimio and Kenya Kwanza list of nominees for parliamentary leadership in both the National Assembly and the Senate.

Both coalitions, Azimio and Kenya Kwanza have unveiled the list of nominees set to take up both Senate and National Assembly House leadership positions. 

Despite losing some of its members to President William Ruto’s Kenya Kwanza, the Azimio leadership has maintained its claim that they are the majority in the National Assembly.

In the NA, Ruto’s group named positions for the majority side since they believe they are the majority side because they have secured the speaker’s post, just like Azimio.

Opiyo Wandayi, a Ugunja MP, was proposed by Azimio as the majority leader in the National Assembly.

Junet Mohamed, a member of parliament from Suna East, has been nominated to be the majority whip, while Sabina Chege, a former Murang’a women representative, will serve as his deputy.

Stewart Madzayo, a senator from Kilifi, was appointed to serve as the minority’s leader. Enock Wambua, a senator from Kitui, will act as his replacement.

Azimio settled on Isiolo County senator, Fatuma Dullo as the minority whip. Dullo will be deputized by Nairobi senator, Edwin Sifuna. 

Wiper Party leader, Kalonzo Musyoka announced the list on Saturday, September 17 at Azimio La Umoja parliamentary group in Athi River.

Azimio parliamentary leadership

National Assembly

Majority Leader – Opiyo Wandayi (ODM) 

Deputy – Robert Mbui (Wiper) 

Majority Whip – Junet Mohamed (ODM) 

Deputy – Sabina Chege (Jubilee) 


Minority Leader – Stewart Madzayo (ODM) 

Deputy – Enock Wambua (Wiper) 

Minority Whip – Fatuma Dullo (Jubilee) 

Deputy – Edwin Sifuna (ODM)

Kenya Kwanza Parliamentary Leadership

As the preferred candidate for the majority leader of the National Assembly, Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung’wah was backed by Kilifi North MP Owen Baya.

Sylvanus Osoro, a legislator from South Mugirango, was suggested as the Majority Whip, with Naomi Waqo, a nominee, serving as his deputy.

Aaron Cheruiyot of Kericho was chosen as the majority leader in the Senate, and Tabitha Karanja of Nakuru was chosen as his deputy.

Kakamega senator Boniface Khalwale was fronted for the Majority Whip position with Samburu senator, Steve Lelegwe, as his deputy.

The names were unveiled during the party Parliamentary Group meeting held in Naivasha on Saturday, September 17.

The meeting was headed by President William Ruto, his deputy Rigathi Gachagua and other leaders in the Kenya Kwanza Alliance.

Also read,

Kenya to revert to a pure manual voting system if Raila’s push goes through

Raila sets 2024 as the deadline to reform IEBC, Judiciary

Raila questions Ruto’s ‘roadside’ decision in revoking recognition of the Sahrawi Republic

President Ruto rules out Maize flour subsidy

Follow us



Stay Connected


Latest Articles