9.6 C
New York
Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Buy now

Azimio says won’t cede the National Assembly majority despite Ruto luring MPs to his side 

Azimio says won’t cede the National Assembly majority despite Ruto luring MPs to his camp, Kenya Kwanza Alliance. 

Azimio Coalition is claiming that some MPs elected in parties that signed a pact with the Raila Odinga-led coalition have illegally moved to the Deputy President’s camp, Kenya Kwanza.

The Raila Odinga-led camp claims that it is still legally obligated to the MPs, giving it a tenuous 167:158 edge over Kenya Kwanza.

12 elected MPs who were formerly in the Azimio coalition ditched the camp and joined Ruto’s coalition.

The contested lawmakers belong to former Kilifi governor Amason Kingi’s Pamoja African Alliance (PAA), ex-Machakos governor Alfred Mutua’s Maendeleo Chap Chap, Mandera Senator-elect Ali Roba’s United Democratic Movement (UDM), and Ugenya MP Dave Ochieng’s Movement for Democratic Growth (MDG).

Legally, going by the coalition agreement signed before the elections, the MPs are still members of the Azimio.

Azimio wants the coalition agreement deposited at the registrar of political parties used to determine the majority party.

ODM chairman John Mbadi, who is poised to be the majority leader in case the Azimio wing wins the legal argument, said majority and minority parties are determined from the start of the life of parliament and do not change midway.

Mr. Mbadi stated that the argument between the majority and minority parties has now been resolved in light of the victories obtained by Azimio affiliate parties in the Pokot South, Kitui Rural, and Kacheliba constituencies.

He added that Azimio will not cede the national assembly majority seat even if the parties legally exit the coalition after the MPs are sworn in.

David Pkosing, the new MP for Pokot South, declared on Wednesday that his victory has established Azimio as the dominant force in the House.

The numbers will be crucial in the election of Speakers.

“The coalition agreements are still in place. The bottom line is that we have 164 MPs and they have 156 members. In the Speakers’ race, even the individual candidates will be lobbying across the political divide,” said Mr Mbadi.

Also read,

IEBC explains why it can’t grant Azimio full access to its servers

Smartmatic writes to IEBC declining to open servers as directed by the Supreme Court

Raila meets Mt Kenya politicians who lost in the August polls

Raila confirms Ruto’s call as he says the DP is a beneficiary of electoral fraud

Follow us



Stay Connected


Latest Articles