7.2 C
New York
Saturday, December 2, 2023

Buy now

Governor Waiguru lands plum role at International organization

Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru elected as a member to international organization; Executive Bureau of the United Regions Organization (ORU).

In a statement via X on Tuesday, November 21, Waiguru said it was an honor to be elected to the global organization.

“It was a great honour to be elected as a member of the Executive Bureau of ORU Fogar/United Regions Organization,” said Waiguru.

The Kirinyaga Governor added that she looks forward to learning and advocating last mile service delivery in line with the Bottom Up Economic model.

“ I look forward to learning and advocating for last mile service delivery as is aligned with our own Bottom UP Economic Model in the global context.”

ORU is an international organization that draws its membership from sub-national Governments in Europe, Latin America, Africa, and Asia.

The global body aims to boost global policy through locally informed strong regional governments that are competent, have legal support, and are funded to serve.

Teacher dies after being hit by helicopter propeller

Ruto reveals how he’ll spend KSh1.8 trillion World Bank loan

Mt Kenya Kamwene group dismisses Bi-Partisan talks as ‘waste of time’

World Bank lines up Ksh1.8 trillion ($12 billion) loan for Kenya

Several injured as KDF chopper crashes in Wajir (VIDEO)

Waiguru who is also Chair of the Council of Governors in Kenya will be tasked with spearheading the promotion of participation of regional governments in the design and management of policies on education, health and the construction of social infrastructures.

The CoG chair will further sit on the panel that will discuss the venue of the ORU 2023 General Assembly agenda and location.

Since 2009, Morocco has been the only African country to host the General Assembly, with Chile holding the last one in October 2022. 

Governor Waiguru will now join eleven other leaders who form the ORU Executive Bureau.

The global leaders include; Rachid El Abdi, Laurent Wauquiez, Ahmed Benjeleoune, Juan Manzur, Karl-Heinz Lambertz, Anna Casals, and Salah Elaaboudi.

Others are; Eugene Aouele, Pablo Jurado, Marcelo Carrasco and Concepcion Quintana.

Also read,

NSSF advertises 3000 job opportunities; How to apply

Police shoots self dead inside station

Police officers manning KSCE station arrested in alcohol-drinking den

Process to dissolve Meru County kicks off

A minor running from defilement by the father gets defiled by a police in a cell

Follow us



Stay Connected


Latest Articles