7.6 C
New York
Monday, December 11, 2023

Buy now

Biden sends a delegation of five to attend Ruto’s swearing-in 

Joe Biden, the United States President has sent a delegation of five to attend Ruto’s swearing-in ceremony on Tuesday.

On Saturday, September 10, US President Joe Biden gave his approval for a delegation of five to attend President-elect William Ruto’s scheduled inauguration on Tuesday, September 13, 2022.

The principal trade counselor, negotiator, and spokeswoman for American trade policy, Honorable Katherine Tai, will serve as the delegation’s leader, according to a statement from the White House.

Honorable Meg Whitman, Honorable Colin Allred, Honorable Mary Catherine Phee, and Dr. Monde Muyangwa are additional team members.

Whitman is the United States Ambassador to the Republic of Kenya while Allred serves as the United States Representative for Texas.

Phee, on the other hand, is the Assistant Secretary of State for the Bureau of African Affairs, U.S. Department of State while Muyangwa works as the Assistant Administrator for the Bureau for Africa, U.S. Agency for International Development.

Tai is President Biden’s Cabinet member since she was sworn in on March 18, 2021.

The announcement comes just a few days after Biden congratulated the DP on winning the election after a calm voting process.

Karine Jean-Pierre, the press secretary for the White House, also revealed that Biden had commended Raila Odinga, the leader of the Azimio, for accepting the results of the presidential petition and for honoring the Supreme Court’s ruling.

“We congratulate William Ruto on his election as president of Kenya. We commend Raila Odinga for abiding by the Supreme Court’s ruling.

“We also congratulate the people of Kenya on the conclusion of a peaceful electoral process we commend Raila Odinga and other candidates for abiding by the Supreme Court filing transparent electoral processes and the peaceful education adjudication of disputes our testimony to the strength of democratic institutions,” Jean-Pierre stated.

Meanwhile, nearly 20 Heads of State are said to have confirmed their attendance for Ruto’s swearing-in ceremony according to interior PS Karanja Kibicho.

Also read,

Ruto will have the weakest opposition, Raila should just retire as people have failed to appreciate him, Analysts

No Uhuru CS will be retained in Kenya Kwanza government, Ruto allies tell Balala

Kalonzo dismisses claims that he met Ruto, adds he has started his 2027 presidential campaigns 

Follow us



Stay Connected


Latest Articles